The Best Advice Ever.

“Don’t be a people pleaser” I learned that if you start doing a bit of what you love each day, you’ll be surprised where you end up five or ten years from now”. – Mrs. H

These are the words that someone told me the other day. 2012 is filled with big decisions for me and the only person I really need to listen to is God. He has a plan for my life and the bible says that

Jeremiah 29:11
“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” (NIV)

and again in

Psalm 119:105
Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light for my path. (NIV)

Although I have already been accepted to SMU (Southern Methodist University) And if I haven’t testified of God’s goodness yet then here’s my chance. He blessed me with a lovely scholarship to the school and I didn’t even have to apply for the scholarship. So  I found out that I was accepted to the university and there was a scholarship awarded to me in the envelope. I must leave the final decision in God’s hand. I want to make my peers happy, my family happy, and my self happy. But at the end of the day the only person I should work to please is God. He has already directed me in to what major I should pursue. (Sidenote: I want to double major in finance and international business) I have faith that God will direct my steps because the bible says in Hebrews 11:6  “And without faith it is impossible to please God, because anyone who comes to him must believe that he exists and that he rewards those who earnestly seek him.” (NIV)

The advice she (a former educator) gave me was so true. It hit me that I can’t live my life to please others. I don’t know  where God will take me if I continue to please others. And I’ve noticed that pleasing others doesn’t always led to my self-happiness. I’m learning that wanting to be “liked” by others is different from wanting to earn respect for others. I’m learning to stand on my own two feet when it comes to my beliefs. I could care less about pleasing people with what I wear. *diva snap* Unlike the people at my school you probably won’t catch me in true religion/miss me jeans, a north face jacket, or the combination of Nike shorts & Uggs boots.

Well I hope this advice helps someone out there too. And I will leave you with one more verse….Romans 8:28 And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.

Ciao Bella!

Leave a Reply

